From the City of St. Augustine
As the city continues to explore redesign options forÂ the area along the bayfront between the municipal marina and the Bridge of Lions, one of its duties is to research the history and document any significant features in the area, most prominent of which is the municipal carpet golf (click here for location). In fact, there is work underway to get theÂ the carpet golf facility listed the site on the National Register of Historic Places, a process that involves extensive and well documented research into the history of the facility.
The Mini Golf Course at St. Augustine was formally opened on Saturday June 25, 1949 and has been a fixture and center ofÂ family entertainment for 65 years since itsÂ initial popularity in the city’s booming tourist years after World War II.
As part of the National Register application research, Paul Weaver, president of Historic Property Associates, has brought to light the fact that the city’s municipal golf course is not only Florida’s oldest extant miniature golf course and is distinguished as an example of post-war geometric type courses,Â but also it was the first public facility in St. AugustineÂ to be desegregated.
In June 1963, as part of the growing local and national civil rights movement, the city was confronted by Black community leaders seeking assurance that all city owned facilities would not be segregated. While there was no official policy enforcing segregation, it was an informal practice to deny Blacks use of the carpet golf facility, but that ended within weeks of being brought to the attention of the city commission. Thus, in June 1963, with the commission’s action, the municipal carpet golf course was the first desegregated public facility in St. Augustine.
The first step for the National Register of Historic Places applicationâ€™s long process through local, state and finally federal agencies is a review by the cityâ€™s Historic Architectural Review Board at its meeting onÂ July 17.