May 20-21: Finger Mullet Film Festival at Flagler College

 The Crisp-Ellert Art Museum (CEAM) and Flagler College are delighted to announce the inaugural Finger Mullet Film Festival (FMFF) to be held at CEAM on Friday, May 20th through Saturday, May 21st.

The FMFF is dedicated to nurturing an experimental art and film culture in St Augustine by providing an inspired platform for the best national and international short films alongside a burgeoning local and regional culture of time-based creators and storytellers. Our goal is to discover, cultivate and screen new local narratives as a means of generating critical discussion and empowering community collaboration. This year’s festival brings together film and video shorts by regional, national, and international artists and filmmakers, including an under-18 screening block and an exhibition of time-based art.

The exhibition Undercurrents, organized by Flagler College Curatorial Studies students, will kick off events on Friday, May 20th from 5 to 7 pm and will be on view through June 17.

On Saturday, May 21st, screening blocks are scheduled as follows, 18 and under films from 4 to 4:45 pm; local filmmakers and Flagler College Alumni from 5 to 5:45 pm, and National and International films curated by the festival’s organizers from 6 to 7:30 pm. Kevin Mahoney has organized special performances by local musicians to play alongside a selection of silent films by American filmmaker Maya Deren (1917-1961) from 8 to 10 pm.

A full list of participants is listed below, as well as at and

The Finger Mullet Film Festival was created by Patrick Moser and Kevin Mahoney, Flagler College Distinguished Professors of Art, and Julie Dickover, Director of the Crisp-Ellert Art Museum. This event is made possible with support from The Department of Visual Art and the Kenan Family Foundation.

For further information about this program, or our other exhibitions and events, please visit the website at, or contact Julie Dickover at 904-826-8530 or

Finger Mullet Film Festival Schedule

Under 18: 4-4:45pm

Simone Endress, Odes to Ordinary Objects (2021)

Paola Perez, Fences (2022)

The Students of the Benjamin Dias Costa Foundation, Play Chairs (2021)

Tiziano Doria and Samira Guadagnuolo and Students of Liceo Artistico Preziosissimo Sangue, 14 875 (2022)

St. Augustine Boys and Girls Club, Baller bots (2021)

St. Augustine Boys and Girls Club, Club Adventures (2022)


Locals & Alumni: 5-5:45pm

Jessica Boruksy, Subprime (2021)

Jake Carlson (2022)

Cory Driscoll, All Great Love (2022)

Russell Maycumber, Train Line (2022)

Drew Miller, Surf Film (2022)

Rory Thompson, The Butterfly and the Wasp (2021)


Curated: 6-7:30pm

Hannah Buckley, We Are Now (2015)

Nathalie Dunselman, Paper Talk (2021)

Zeke Farrow, Possessions (2019)

Sky Hopinka, Lore (2019)

Jamie Isenstein, Thinamijjag (2017)

Tom Konyves, All This Day is Good For (2010)

April Lin, Now I close my eyes the world I see is so beautiful (2020)

Florine Mougel, Roaming (2020)

Eylul Yarkin, Old Man and the Sea (2022)

Live scores to silent films by Maya Deren: 8-10pm

At Land, scored by Room Thirteen

Meshes of the afternoon, scored by Severed and Said

Ritual in Transfigured Time, scored by BlackSunBlackMoon

Witch’s Cradle, scored by Ironing or Heirloom

Private Life of a Cat, scored by Terror Management Band

Comments are closed.